Confessions of a Beauty Product Junkie

Hello, my name is Heather and I’m a beauty product junkie. As a spa blogger, I regularly receive products to review and write about. And to be frank, that was exactly what I had in mind when I set out to write about spas, beauty and wellness four years ago. Fast forward to 2014 and this is what my medicine cabinet looks like today: beauty product addict
Originally, the idea was that I would save some space for my fiancee. But as the days passed and he neglected to claim his shelves (silly man), I gradually took over.
I’ll admit, I am weak in the face of essential oils, shea butter and flower essences. Which means I am now working my way through several half opened bottles of different types of facial cleansers and creams, a few moisturizers and my real weakness: body lotion and oils (you could count seven, if you really wanted to, in the picture above). That’s not to mention the flower essence perfumes, natural nail polishes, organic mascaras and herbal tinctures I’ve accumulated.
beautyproductaddict nails

For the health and sanity of my skin I try to finish one product before I start another, but usually I can’t resist just trying a little of my newest shiny skincare toy, which results in, well, a medicine cabinet that looks like the above.

beauty product addict three sisters
In an effort to try and reap some good from my beauty product addiction I thought I’d share some of what I’ve learned with my blog readers, so, over the next few weeks I’ll be sharing my current favorite products as well as some classics that I return to again and again even after the thrill of “newness” has worn off.
First up is a new (to me) product that I received as part of a gift bag at The Spa Buzz event I attended this week. It’s called “SmileActives” and is a teeth whitening pen that you brush on your teeth up to four times a day.
beauty product addict 7 SmileActives is supposed to help whiten teeth and freshen breath and it’s claimed that you can see results within two days. The ingredient list is short, which is usually good and includes hydrogen peroxide, glycerin, and castor oil. The only troubling ingredients are ammonium hydroxide, which is commonly used in food processing and the FDA deems to be safe, but I’m not completely convinced, thoughts? The other one, Etidronic acid is an ingredient that seems mostly safe, but not necessarily natural.
At any rate, this is probably one of my least green and clean beauty experiments. So, you may be wondering, does it work? Well, I started using it about three days ago and so far my teeth actually do look whiter. I didn’t take any before and after pictures, but maybe I should have. The pen is easy to use and doesn’t have any kind of taste or noticeable feel on my teeth. If the two slightly worrisome chemicals in the product are less harmful than I think, I could see this becoming a permanent fixture in my beauty product addict medicine cabinet.

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Beauty Product Junkie

  1. I will look forward to reading more of your reviews, Heather, since I am also a skin care product addict…being an Esthetician for over 23 years, let’s just say I’ve sampled quite a few, love some, not so much others. I, like you, only like to use organic, few ingredient, botanical face and body products, and if they include a delicious aromatherapy scent, they get extra points. Have fun with your testing! Also, I have not received your emails for awhile so I am pleased to be back on your mailing list. Have a great day :)

    • Hi Mary,
      Thanks for your comment and for reading my blog! You probably haven’t gotten emails as I haven’t posted in awhile as I was house hunting and then moving during the holidays-so have not had time to focus on my more pleasurable pursuits-but now that I am settled in my new home, hope to have more frequent product reviews up. I look forward to sharing more organic, aromatherapy based (my favorite too!) products soon!

Leave a Reply

